Also available on iTunes and Amazon

Click here to Purchase CD

Ben Okafor – Shadows


  • Release date: 2001-02-02
  • Label: Roadsweeper Records
  • Catalog #: RSWCD 001

Track Previews

  1. 1

    Wise Ones

  2. 2

    Stay With Me

  3. 3

    World Gone Crazy

  4. 4

    Sleeping Angel

Track Listing

1. She Said
2. Wise Ones
3. Shadows
4. Filipino
5. Man of Sorrow
6. Call Me
7. Raise Your Conscience

8. Go See
9. Generation
10. Stay With Me
11. World Gone Crazy
12. Sleeping Angel

Album Description

This (now rare) album was totally recorded specifically for release in Ben’s home country of Nigeria on his own Roadsweeper Records. This album features two songs not recorded or released on any other Ben Okafor album/EP/single (‘Wise Ones’ & ‘Sleeping Angel’) as well as some songs only available on some specific territory releases of the acclaimed ‘Nkiru’ album – but obviously re-recorded for this album

Album Reviews

Ben Okafar established himself here as a worthy singer/songwriter way back in the ’80s and has consistently maintained an independent presence in both the mainstream and Christian musical arenas. This admirable album contains many of his concert favourites and was recorded back on home territory in Lagos, Nigeria, a couple of years ago. Don’t expect something akin to Ladysmith Black Mambazo or Machanic Manyeruke – Okafar’s more influenced musically by the reggae of Sting and the late great Bob Marley. Standout tracks include “Wise Ones (Will Seek Him)” which was commissioned for a Billy Graham crusade, and the classic “Man Of Sorrows” but there’s not really a sub-standard track on the album – a perfect introduction to one of the unsung heroes of British CCM. – Cross Rhythms